Monthly Archives: August 2011


DJ Jazzy Jeff’s Summertime Mix

I slept on this for a little longer than I was hoping, but better late than never!  In these dying days of summer, I thought it’d be a good idea to give you a little fresh summer playlist to carry you as long as the days stay warm.  We’re no stranger to summer mixes, though it’s been a minute since we posted one. 

DJ Jazzy Jeff and Mick Boogie have put out a killer summer mix consisting of 49 tracks of pure summer joy.  Check out the playlist below, then head over to to Jazzy Jeff’s website to download:

1. Summertime Intro

2. Kool & The Gang: Summer Madness (Live Version)

3. Kool & The Gang: Summer Madness

4. Quincy Jones: Summer In The City

5. Ahmad: Back In The Day

6. Ice Cube: It Was A Good Day

7. Roy Ayers f/ Mary J Blige: Everybody Loves The Sunshine

8. Pharcyde: Passin’ Me By (Ffej Remix)

9. Jay-Z f/ Babyface: Sunshine

10. Ramsey Lewis: Sun Goddess

11. A Tribe Called Quest: Find A Way (Ffej String Edit)

12: Bush Babies f/ Mos Def: The Love Song

13. Jodeci: Get On Up

14. The Commodores: High On Sunshine

15. J Dilla f/ Dwele : Think Twice

16. Erick Sermon f/ Marvin Gaye: Music (Mick’s Marvapella Edit)

17. Bernard Wright: Who Do You Love

18. LL Cool J: Loungin’

19. A Tribe Called Quest: Hot Sex

20. Main Source: Live At The BBQ

21. Nuyorican Soul: Nautilus

22. Pharcyde & Sublime: Summertime

23. Fresh Prince and Jazzy Jeff: Summertime Remix

24. Michael Jackson: I Can’t Help It

25. De La Soul: Breakdawn

26. Musiq: Just Friends

27. Carl Thomas: Summer Rain

28. Faze-O: Riding High

29. Dionne Warwick: Walk On By

30. Skee-Lo: I Wish

31. Black Moon: Who Got The Props

32. Frankie Beverly and Maze: Before I Let Go

33. Nu Shooz: I Can’t Wait

34. Montell Jordan: This Is How We Do It

35: The Roots f/ George Benson: Breezin’

36: Fresh Prince and Jazzy Jeff: Time To Chill

37. Biggie: Can’t You See

38. James Brown: The Payback

39. En Vogue: My Lovin’

40. Bobby McFerrin: Sunshine Of My Life

41. Fifth Dimension: Let The Sun Shine In

42. Mos Def: Sunshine

43. Nine: Whatcha Want

44. Otis Redding: Sittin’ On The Dock

45. 2Pac: I Get Around (Mick’s String Edit)

46. Zapp: Computer Love (Terry’s Mirage On The Water Mix)

47. Seals And Croft: Summer Breeze

48. Jay-Z: Dear Summer

49. Weldon Irvine: Morning Sunrise


rjd2 has a new partner, forms Icebird

Pitchfork, as always, is a source of some interesting news.  RJD2 has formed a new duo with Aaron Livingston.  These two are no strangers to working together, having collaborated on RJD2`s previous album, The Colossus.

Icebird, the new super-duo, is set to release an album in the next few months.

The first single from Icebird’s upcoming album is called `Going and Going. And Going`. Check it below:

Check out Crumbs off the Table, from The Colossus.


Prince Ea – Backwards Rappers

A dope use of the backwards video technique, and a nice little twist.  Pharcyde would be proud.


Geek Music

Massive mashup

Check out this pretty serious mashup.  They had me when they mashed the Theme from Shaft and the Imperial March from Star Wars. 

Don’t hold back, just push things forward from Ithaca Audio on Vimeo.


[Ithaca Audio via Gizmodo]


2011 Summer Break

As you’ve probably noticed, we’re on a bit of a hiatus here at 4080. All of us are off doing various summer-y things. We’ll be back in the next month or so, so definitely stay tuned. Until then, enjoy the sun.

Image props: racoles